Acceptance and Freedom

In his sermon titled What would you do with a second chance, Pastor Mark Wheeler said that “God often appears in the ordinary events of life.”  I was reminded of this while I was working out today at Planet Fitness. While I was there I met Andy (not his real name), who was having difficulty with a piece of equipment. I showed Andy how to use it and he thanked me. I needed to finish my workout and get on with my day, as I had a full schedule. Yet, I thought about what Pastor Mark said and felt like this could be a God-given opportunity to share the gospel.

I stayed and talked with Andy and his workout partner for a while and it turns out that Andy was looking for a church, but did not know where to go. He isn’t a believer and has questions about what it means to be part of a church. I talked about First Central Bible Church (FCBC) and offered to meet with him and answer his questions about Christ in depth. I also invited him to check out one of the services at FCBC. He seemed genuinely interested and asked me for my contact information.

Snip20170703_100When I was leaving the gym I noticed a planet fitness sign that says, “The World Judges, We Don’t. Be Free.” This reminded me of Andy and his curiosity about Christ and the church. Would he be accepted by the Chruch, or by God? People are hungry for acceptance and a sense of freedom. They look for this in all sort of places, people, and philosophy. We can’t earn freedom and acceptance from God, but we can receive it as a gift. True freedom comes from Christ, who has set us free from the curse and the law, and he has called us to be part of his body, the Church, and to accept, love, and serve one another.

For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another. For the whole law is fulfilled in one word: “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.” (Galatians 5:13–14)

I’d like to challenge you to pay attention during your day, despite your own schedule so that you might see how God is trying to use you. You might just find that God is giving you an opportunity to share the Gospel, to build up a fellow believer in Christ, or to otherwise glorify his great Name.

Leave a Reply

