A Prayer– Titus 2:11-14 and Psalm 23

The following is a prayer that is a combination of Titus 2:11-14 and the 23rd Psalm. I have been meditating on these text this week and combined the two into a sort of prayer or liturgy (Actually, I used it in my small group for this purpose).

After you read it, close your eyes and picture the the images of the 23rd Psalm. Can you see it? My favorite image was that of the Lord setting a banquet before me in the presence of my enemies. I can see all these people surrounding me, harassing me, sneering, and yet they fade out of sight and sound as the Lord leans over me and whispers to me, Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourselves in rich food.(Isa.55:2b)”


A Prayer
Titus 2:11-14 & Psalm 23

For the Grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to those who believe.

I believe in the Lord Jesus Christ, He is my shepherd. I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.

He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake and trains me to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live a self-controlled, upright, and godly life in this present age.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my heads with oil; my cup overflows as I
wait for our blessed hope, the appearing of the glory of our great God and Savior Jesus Christ.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

