Obey Your Leaders

7 Remember your leaders, those who spoke to you the word of God. Consider the outcome of their way of life, and imitate their faith. … 17 Obey your leaders and submit to them, for they are keeping watch over your souls, as those who will have to give an account. Let them do this with joy and not with groaning, for that would be of no advantage to you. Heb 13:7, 17 ESV

Here is a question to consider:

Do our church leaders groan over their leadership of us, or is it a source of joy for them?

Self inventory:

  • Do I willingly submit to those above me, or do I do it with grumbling and complaining (or flat out reject them)?
  • Am I grateful for my leaders, who are watching over my soul, teaching right doctrine?
  • Do I pray for my pastor, and other elders, asking God to help them to live lives that are worthy to imitate so that we might follow them and that they might give a good account to the Lord?

Our leaders need our support and appreciation, and GOD tells us that we are to give it. To neglect this “would be of no advantage to [us].”

Leave a Reply

