This repost is from my pastors sermon today at First Central Baptist Church in Chicopee Massachusetts. Just so happens that we spoke of essentially the same message and our college and career class today. The Scriptures say that it is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Do not allow those that teach false doctrine and tell lies about Christ to take you captive. I urge you to read and know the Scriptures, not only that, but to seek wisdom and knowledge of God through prayer.

On Target

Some time back, I was the victim of an April Fool’s Day prank. A missionary friend sent an urgent “prayer request” saying they were being threatened with deportation if they did not comply with new rules for foreigners. I swallowed their story hook, line, sinker, pole, boat, and outboard motor. I offered advice, prayer, and numerous suggestions. Boy, did I feel sheepish when I discovered I had been royally punk’d. I was gullible to the nth degree.

In the same way, Christ followers can be led astray by false teachers. To prevent that from happening, the apostle Paul pointed out to the church in Colossae that the best defense against error is a thorough knowledge of the truth (Colossians 2:8-10).

Paul begins by warning the believers to be on guard. Just as I was taken captive by a gripping and believable prayer request, so a believer can be…

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

