Give Thanks With a Grateful Heart!

Give Thanks With a Grateful Heart!Today my wife and I began our day with a devotion about thankfulness. I thought this was a fitting devotion because last night I had spent some time in prayer with a friend, and as I interceded for him my prayer sort of transformed into a prayer of praise and thanksgiving for all that the Lord was doing in mine and my friends lives. For me, a time of prayerful intercession became a time of worship.

My wife and I talked about the devotion for a little while and both agreed that thanksgiving is a form a worship and that we would like to increase this in our lives as a manner of worship to the giver off all good things, that is, Jesus Christ. We prayed for patience and thankful hearts, and began to go about the business of the day.

I feel like GOD never makes me wait to long for a chance to prove the strength of my convictions when I ask him to work in me. I got the chance right away this morning. I left for my commute to school and found that I began to hit every single stoplight as it was turning red. Choice: impatience or thanksgiving. I made the choice of thanksgiving. I took the brief pauses in my commute to look at the sky, which was simply awe-inspiring this morning.

At about the halfway mark of my commute I was given another choice. I came upon a blocked road (construction), and better yet, there was no detour. I had also left my GPS at home. Choice: anger and worry, or Thanksgiving. I again made the choice to let my heart be filled with thanksgiving instead of the worries and attitudes that are so prevalent to my sin nature. (THANKS BE TO GOD! A few years ago this would have resulted in a childish fit on my part.)

I decided that I would take my chances trying an alternate route and prayed that the Lord would help me find my way to the school, since I have not previously taken this route. As it turns out I found a new route that cuts nearly ten minutes out of my commute. Praise be to the giver of all good things!

Even the radio DJ (Q99.7–our local Christian station) shared how she was focused on thanksgiving yesterday. She said that she walked into a Starbucks and the barista greeted her and point blank (and somewhat randomly) asked her what she had to be thankful for. I share these stories with you to make the simple point that a spirit of thanksgiving is important and can bring you closer to GOD.

There are so many scriptures concerning thanksgiving in the scriptures. Here are just a few to think about:

Psalms 69:30 I will praise God’s name in song and glorify him with thanksgiving. NIV

Psalms 95:2 Let us come before him with thanksgiving and extol him with music and song. NIV

Psalms 100:4 Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. NIV

Psalms 147:7 Sing to the LORD with thanksgiving; make music to our God on the harp. NIV

Philippians 4:6 Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. NIV

1 Timothy 2:1 I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone– NIV

(Yeah, it’s a little heavy on the “give thanks with song” aspect, but I’m a worship leader at heart; what do you expect? 😉 )

Here is my challenge to you: For the next seven days, join me in picking two things that you are thankful for, sharing them with other people, and giving thanks to GOD for those two blessings. It’s very tempting and easy to voice what is going wrong with our day, but let’s begin to cultivate an attitude of thanksgiving a praise.

It would bless me if you would come back each day to this blog entry and leave a comment in the comment section about what you are thankful for.

GOD bless you, and have a great week.

20121022-135409.jpg

5 Comments

  1. I am thankful for the body of Christ—the church. The friendship of a brother or sister in Christ is a sweet and precious gift.

    I am thankful for my family. I can not explain how incredibly blessed and grateful I am to be married to such a woman as my wife, and that out of it I have two beautiful children is all the more wonderful.

    1. I am eternally grateful for the mercy and grace of Jesus Christ. He extends his offer of free grace to all and we can do nothing to earn it, neither before nor after receiving it. This means that GOD is glorified in the covering up of our past sins; the sanctification of broken sinners, making them holy as he is holy; and the correction, discipline, and forgiveness of our sins while in the state of grace which he so graciously places us in.

      1. I’m grateful for my son’s school and for his teachers. He goes to a Christian school and his teacher is a wonderful woman that thrives of teaching kids and sharing the gospel with them. He is free to talk about GOD and ask questions and discussus spiritual matters. What a joy! This was not the case in his last school, where they treated it as if he was acting inappropriate when he talked about GOD, regardless of the context. I am grateful that GOD helped us find this school because it has a strong academic record and is biblically based.

    2. I’m thankful for the beautiful day we had today. My wife and I rode our bikes from South Hadley to Smith College in Northampton and it was a wonderful and beautiful ride. Such wonderful colors in the trees!

      1. I’m thankful for my church. I am glad to be a part of this body of believers. I am also thankful that we finally have a senior pastor, Mark Wheeler. I’m hankful for their faith in the Lord and desire to serve him. I am also thankful that GOD is moving in our church to do some great things to bring glory to his name. GOD be praised.

Leave a Reply

