What is GOD saying?– A Chapter Summary Method of Bible Study

Things to Look For when Completing a Chapter SummaryI’ve been wanting to do a concentrated  study of Romans from beginning to end for some time now. Each time I have begun to undertake this endeavor I found myself a little overwhelmed. I decided that the reason that this was happening is because I was attempting to get into the minutia of the chapter before getting the overall picture of what was going on in each chapter.

What I decided to do was to complete a chapter summary for each chapter, on at a time at the pace of about one to two chapters per week. This will serve several purposes:

1. I wil become familiar with the overall theme and teachings of each chapter.

2. I will have a better recollection of the book overall and chapter by chapter.

3. I will discover concepts for deeper study within each chapter that would lend themselves to a deeper, more thorough study.

4. I will discover various cross references that will that will provide internal context (context within the book of Romans itself) as well as external context (context outside the book of Romans, both Old and New Testament).

5. The study method helps serve as a point of drive and direction.

It am happy to report that it is going much better this time. The form that I am using for this particular method is one that I got from pastor Rick Warren’s book entitled Rick Warren’s Bible Study Methods: Twelve Ways You Can Unlock God’s Word. Below you can see a picture example from my study of chapter one. You can click on the picture to download the PDF of the template and a filled out example of how to use this particular method of Bible study.

I highly recommend this book if you are looking for a new way of approaching Bible Study. It is a good place to start and will prepare you to deeply and effectively study the word of GOD. Remember to PRAY BEFORE YOU STUDY! Ask GOD to help open you mind and heart to his word.

If you are interested in buying the book, here is a link to it on Amazon:

Chapter Summary Bible Study Method
Click on this image to download the blank chapter summary template and a filled out example. NOTE: There are two blank pages in the template incase you need more room than was provided. I used this to write out the cross-referenced scriptures and to make various list.
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

