Mud pies: We are far too easily pleased.

"We are far too easily pleased."The thing that I am seeking most these days is pleasure. Yeah, that sounds bad, but it’s not. I am not seeking some vain, amorally hedonistic, self-gratification, but instead I am seeking to find pleasure in GOD. Not in GOD’s gifts, but in GOD himself. Don’t misunderstand me on either of these points. I am not saying, “Don’t be joyful for the blessings of the Lord, or the salvation which his great sacrifice has wrought”. Neither am I saying, “I seek my own happiness as an end in itself.”

1 Chronicles 16:10 ESV – [10] Glory in his holy name; let the hearts of those who seek the LORD rejoice!

Psalm 5:11 ESV – [11] But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.

Psalm 13:5 ESV – [5] But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.

Psalm 32:11 ESV – [11] Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, O righteous, and shout for joy, all you upright in heart!

Psalm 35:9 ESV – [9] Then my soul will rejoice in the LORD, exulting in his salvation.

Psalm 64:10 ESV – [10] Let the righteous one rejoice in the LORD and take refuge in him! Let all the upright in heart exult!

Psalm 70:4 ESV – [4] May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!”

GOD calls us to rejoice in HIM. He IS good. Not that there is good IN GOD, but that appart from GOD there is no good because he IS good. Our Lord is a wonderful and splendid King. He is worthy of praise and honor and glory, far above all other things.  He is holy, that is, he is set apart from all other things; there is none other like him. That being said, I am seeking to set apart my joy in him alone.

It is not that enjoying the world around us–which GOD so wonderfully made–or the gifts that he gives us, or our families, our friends, or the wonderful things of Christian fellowship is bad; it is that when compared to the incomparable and matchless glory, majesty, and goodness of our Father all other shiny prizes fade. He is the greatest. This is not a trite statement. It is the very thing I realized that glorious day that I knelt before him crying out, “I don’t understand this whole thing, but I WANT YOU!” What a pleasure!

If there lurks in most modern minds the notion that to desire our own good and earnestly to hope for the enjoyment of it is a bad thing, I submit that this notion has crept in from Kant and the Stoics and is no part of the Christian faith. Indeed, if we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that our Lord finds our desires, not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea.We are far too easily pleased.

–C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory

Leave a Reply

