We Have a Powerful Testimony

GOD has done much for you, share it with the world.

Luke 4:25-30, 39-42
25 The woman said to him, “I know that Messiah is coming (he who is called Christ). When he comes, he will tell us all things.” 26 Jesus said to her, “I who speak to you am he.” 27 Just then his disciples came back. They marveled that he was talking with a woman, but no one said, “What do you seek?” or, “Why are you talking with her?” 28 So the woman left her water jar and went away into town and said to the people, 29 “Come, see a man who told me all that I ever did. Can this be the Christ?” 30 They went out of the town and were coming to him.

39 Many Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me all that I ever did.”
40 So when the Samaritans came to him, they asked him to stay with them, and he stayed there two days.
41 And many more believed because of his word.
42 They said to the woman, “It is no longer because of what you said that we believe, for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is indeed the Savior of the world.”

Looking back at the time before I came to know the Lord I can think of many people that GOD sent to share the gospel with me. At the time I did not really put two and two together, but after I accepted Christ as savior and Lord I realized that there were many people planting many seeds in my life. I wanted to be different. I just felt like I was missing the whole point of life, but the testimonies of faithful believers helped draw me to GOD.

When I met the woman that was to later become my wife, Simcha, I could not help but notice that there was something different about her. She seemed to have what I was looking for, but I did not even know what that something was. I remember thinking, “I don’t know what it is, but I want what she has.” She began to share here testimony with me; she shared the gospel with me and it made all the difference.

The unbeliever is blinded by Satan:

(ESV) 2 Corinthians 4:4 In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

Since this is the case, GOD begins calling out to them, doing things that reveal himself to the non-believer. I think GOD is very efficient at his work, he waste no time or good thing to bring about salvation to the people of this world, for the glory of his name. GOD does great things in the lives of believers, which benefit not only the believers, but the people that see this work.

“But I don’t have that great of a story to tell,” I have heard Christians say. Is that so? If you are a Christian then you have a wonderful testimony. Your conversion may not have been as radical or dramatic as others, but the point is that you were snatched from death and hell.

Ephesians 2:1-2
1 And you were dead in the trespasses and sins 2 in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience- 3 among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind. 4 But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, 5 even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ-by grace you have been saved-

(ESV) 1 John 5:10-12; 10 Whoever believes in the Son of God has the testimony in himself. Whoever does not believe God has made him a liar, because he has not believed in the testimony that God has borne concerning his Son. 11 And this is the testimony, that God gave us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12 Whoever has the Son has life; whoever does not have the Son of God does not have life.

This is no small matter! You have a lot to talk about because GOD has done a mighty big thing for you.

In the verses above (Luke 4:25-30, 39-42) we read about the events that unfolded as a result of the Samaritan woman’s encounter with Jesus. She knew that this meeting was a significant event, and in her excitement she left her belongings and ran to town in order to testify to all the people. Here we see how GOD’s work in us can have an effect on other people. Those that heard her testimony followed her to meet Jesus.

GOD’s work in our lives is so significant and honoring to him that it draws others to him when they see it in our lives. Jesus said in Matthew:

(ESV) Matthew 5:14 “You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden.

This is what happened in the case of the Samaritan woman. Her testimony drew others to Jesus, and that is when something glorious happened. Their curiosity became became personal faith.

Luke 4: 39-42
39 Many Samaritans from that town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony, “He told me all that I ever did.”
40 So when the Samaritans came to him, they asked him to stay with them, and he stayed there two days.
41 And many more believed because of his word.
42 They said to the woman, “It is no longer because of what you said that we believe, for we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this is indeed the Savior of the world.”

Our testimony has power. This is not because it is the story of how we struggled to find GOD and succeeded, but because it is the story of how GOD call out to us and achieved what was impossible through our own efforts-the reconciliation of man to GOD.

Know your testimony, and ask GOD for the opportunity to share it with others.

Leave a Reply

