GOD helps us see our sin

     This morning while my wife and I prayed together, my son woke up and came into our room. He sat on the bed and prayed with us. We prayed the words of Psalm 141:3, “Set a guard over my mouth, O Lord; keep watch over the door of my lips.”  and the words of James 1:19, “…everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.”After the prayer we sent him back to his room because it was not yet time for him to be up.  When he got back to his room his baby sister began to cry, because she too was awake early and want to get out of the crib. He began to rebuke her unkindly. I walked in and reminded him of what we had just prayed for and he changed his tone and began saying to her, “You’re okay Abi, you don’t have to cry. I’m right here.”

            I sat on the couch and meditated on this. How many times have I asked GOD to help me in with my attitude or some other area in my life, only to find myself attacked in this specific weakness that day. The unbeliever would say, “HA! This proves that GOD is not real because your prayers to please him do not work!” However let me say, “HA! This proves that GOD is real and that he answers our prayers for sanctification, and this attack and my awareness of it is the very proof itself!”

 James 1:5 “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.”

 1 Corinthians 10: 10  “But GOD has revealed it to us by his Spirit. The Spirit searches all things, even the deep things of God.

 1 Corinthians 10: 14 “The man without the Spirit does not accept the things that come from the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him, and he cannot  understand them, because they are spiritually discerned.” 

            What I realized is that when we (Those who have accepted Christ as Lord and are saved by his grace and mercy.) ask GOD to create in us a clean heart, to help us to glorify him, he does it. The way he does it is through giving us his perspective. If I do not have the Spirit as a guide then I do not see the things of GOD. I do not have GOD’s perspective. However, since I have the Spirit of GOD within me and ask for godly wisdom and understanding I become aware of the areas that I am weak in. I become aware of my own sin. This then leaves me with a choice: Obey and repent, being changed, or ignore and be at odds with GOD’s will.Image

            When you pray and find that you are still facing trials or temptations, do not worry; do not be frustrated. Instead, understand that GOD is revealing to you the things that are not pleasing to him. He is helping you see what you are doing and clearing the way for change. Accept his help and become the change you asked for. Remember:

1 Corinthians 10: 13 (ESV) “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.

 

Leave a Reply

