Cleaning Out My Closet

A few days ago my wife, mother-in-law, and I were busy cleaning our house. We were doing the usual mundane list of chores when the erg suddenly stuck me to do something more. “Let’s move the couch,” I said to my wife. We did, but that meant that we had to move the coffee table, which lead us to move a bookshelf, and on and on this went.
I soon realized that if I wanted to make the room look the way I really wanted it to look that I was going to have to get rid of some stuff. Our place was pretty cluttered. I don’t think I had noticed it before but as I tried to make the place look a little nicer, be a little more spacious, I could see that there was all this stuff holding me back. So we began taking an inventory of what we had. Some stuff was good and useful, so we kept that stuff, while other possessions simply didn’t fit our lifestyle anymore or were broken, worn, or simply not used anymore, and so we got rid of that stuff.
I realized that this was very much like many of the times in my life that GOD revealed to me that I needed to make changes in my life in order to be the worshiper that he has called me to be. Because GOD’s spirit lives in me, I have a desire to seek him and to do his will. The more I seek him, the more this desire builds up in me.

Psalm 37:4 ESV – [4] Delight yourself in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.

2 Corinthians 5:9 ESV – [9] So whether we are at home or away, we make it our aim to please him.

As I begin to see who GOD want me to be, I begin to see areas in my life that need evaluation. I begin to see things that have to be let go. Sometimes I am surprised at this. Sometimes I didn’t previously see this area as a problem, but GOD’s perspective opens up my eyes to the deep things of GOD and I now see things for what they are; I see things as he sees them. If I don’t let go off these things in obedience to GOD, then my progress ceases.

Galatians 5:1, 16-25 ESV – [1] For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery. … [16] But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh. [17] For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do. [18] But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law. [19] Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, [20] idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, [21] envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God. [22] But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, [23] gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. [24] And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires. [25] If we live by the Spirit, let us also walk by the Spirit.

Matthew 5:29-30 ESV – [29] If your right eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body be thrown into hell. [30] And if your right hand causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. For it is better that you lose one of your members than that your whole body go into hell.

It is for ” for freedom Christ has set us free…”; do you see how absolutely exciting that is? Since he has already done the work of conquering sin and death, let’s submit in obedience, and let go of the things in our life that hinder our walk. We should not build a wall where Christ has built a door.

Click on the link below to go to a Blue Letter Bible Link to a document that list things were are to “put off” and “put on.”
http://www.blueletterbible.org/study/misc/putoffon.cfm

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

